Posted by: anotherclever | September 10, 2009

Ear Worms – What song(s) plays in your head when you race?

I was just noticing that I almost always have a song playing in my head. Right now, as I type, it’s Muse’s Map of the Problematique that’s echoing in between my ears.

My teammates that race time trials tell me they pick a “power” song to motivate them as they race. Since TTs are such an inward, solo event, this makes perfect sense. It got me thinking, what song plays in my head as I race and train? I rarely ever ride with my iPod, even when I am training alone I prefer the zen meditation of focusing on the moment of riding. But who am I kidding? I may not have my actual iPod with me, but my playlist is playing anyway.

It was about a third of the way through my race at the Giro di San Francisco last weekend when I noticed that The Who’s Won’t Get Fooled Again was reverberating with every pedal stroke. My feet were Pete Townshend’s windmill arm slamming his Stratocaster con athoridad. The Ox Entwisle plowed through his monster bass lines as I moved past my competitors left and right. Keith Moon’s continual drum rolls kept my cadence rolling above 100. I slammed it at the finish and got a top ten. YEAHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!! screamed Roger Daltry.

So, I have my first time trial tomorrow and I’ve been wondering what song I’ll pick to motivate me through it. My gut says it will be something by Rage Against the Machine, but the reality is that I will be on the starting stage tomorrow and whatever songs hits me as I take off will be the soundtrack of my race. I’m not sure if I can control what it will be. Let’s hope it will be something inspiring. The funny thing is that I can imagine any song being somewhat motivating… but what if I get something like Lionel Ritchie singing I’m Easy Like Sunday Morning? Will I be able to crank out 400watts to George Michael’s Freedom? Or will Tool ravage my cadence? Will REM kick my ass into 53/11? Jesus, what happens if it’s JS Bach? Lord please let it not be some pop ear worm that I can’t shake….

But, I guess even if it’s a song I hate, I can channel that hate into my legs and use it’s suckitude to crank my output. Burn Brittney, burn. That’s right Rob Thomas, croon your way through this. Eat my dust Miley, don’t choke on the smell of burning tire rubber.

So what’s your favorite race/motivation song/band? I’d love to know.


Leave a comment

Categories